Can't find what you're looking for?
Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir

St Matthew's Church of England Primary School Primary School

Let Not Your Light Be Hidden... Let Your Light Shine!

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media


Swipe content


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 


The Governing Body

The Governing Body support the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team in setting the strategic direction for the school, monitoring the use of financial and other resources, recruiting staff and overseeing progress towards areas of school improvement.  The Governing Body of St Matthew’s comprises of elected representatives from the parent body and teaching and support staff teams as well as representatives from the church and local authority.   Governors are always keen to hear parents’ views and are always available to talk with parents at parents’ evenings.  Parents can also contact the Chair of Governors and other members of the Governing Body through the school office.


Chair of Governors: Revd. Professor Dr Ian Williams (Chair of Ethos and Values Committee)


Vice Chair: Rebecca Overton


Headteacher: Fiona Deakin


Staff Governor: Joan Amphlett


LA Governor: Gary Bowman (Chair of Resources Committee)


Foundation Governors: 


Gareth Brown

Martin Kendrick

Lucy Mair

Rebecca Overton

Miriam Sadler

Andrew Williams

Revd. Professor Dr Ian Williams


Parent Governors:


Olabimpe Odubanjo